Territorial Acknowledgement

The Timmins-Temiskaming Community Legal Clinic acknowledges that our head office is in Treaty 9 territory and that the lands on which we operate are the traditional territory of Ojibwe/Chippewa, Mushkegowuk (Cree), Algonquin and Métis Peoples. We make this Acknowledgement as a first step in fulfilling our responsibility to critically look at colonial histories and their impact on the present day. As we recognize First Peoples’ large history, we support and celebrate the continuation of a living culture that has such a huge role in this region. We acknowledge elders, past and present, as well as the emerging leaders of tomorrow.

The Timmins-Temiskaming Community Legal Clinic also acknowledges conducting business in the Robinson-Huron Treaty and that said land is the traditional territory of the Cree, Ojibway and Algonquin Peoples.